Wednesday 4 July 2018

'Let Your Light Shine On' by Nicola Conte & Spiritual Galaxy

The last project from Nicola Conte came courtesy of his production for Stefania Dipierro and their joint release, 'Natural', released through Far Out Recordings.

Well, clearly the spirit of collaboration is still running strong with the Italian guitarist, producer and DJ, and the tirelessly prolific Conte now sees him aligning with the supergroup of Spiritual Galaxy and artists including Theo Croker (trumpet), Gianluca Petrella (trombone) and Magnus Lindgren (sax).  The line-up of vocalists on the album now-frequent Conte collaborator, Bridgette Amofah, who appears on many of the album's tracks, along with Carolina Bubbico and Zoe Modica, and there's a very special appearance from Brownswood's Zara McFarlane who sadly only appears on one of the album's tracks, 'Ogun'.

Spiritual Galaxy is such an apt name for the collective as the concept of spiritual and afro-jazz, along with the music of John Coltrane and Sun-Ra, is very much the focus of Conte's vision on 'Let Your Light Shine On' exemplified by song titles 'Cosmic Peace', 'Mystic Revelation of the Gods', 'Space Dimensions' and 'Tribes From The Unknown'.

Although many of the elements and styles embraced throughout this project are in no way new to Conte's repertoire, you can almost envisage this being a project that Conte would have wanted to realise for some time - and to have the album released on the rejuvenated MPS label?  Well, the stars couldn't have been more aligned.

No comments:

Post a Comment