Wednesday 18 December 2019


Blue-in-Green:RADIO presents a very special edition of Nu-Skool Soul that aired 17th December 2019 - part 2 of our multi-part celebration for 2019's stunning music releases that you can catch all week.

Below is a small handful of some of the music you'll find on the complete show:

'Seeds' by Lasperanza [Dome Records]
The brainchild of saxophonist, multi-instrumentalist and producer Rico Garofalo, 'Seeds' marks the enchanting debut project from new Dome Records signee, Lasperanza.   ‘Seeds’ is very much the love letter to the music Rico grew up a fan of as he translates that affection through a selection of the 10 covers comprising his debut.  Even on paper, the variety of these classic and beloved recordings tackled are genuinely provocative - recreations of disco classics like George Benson's 'Give Me The Night' and Michael Jackson's 'Working Day and Night' sit comfortably alongside interpretations of Gwen Guthrie’s ‘It Should Have Been You’ and Keni Steven's 'Cannot Live Without Your Love', resulting in a series of luxurious, almost heavenly, soul-drenched and string-heavy numbers.

'AHLKE' by Freya Roy
'AHLKE' marks the exciting debut album from vocalist, writer, producer, guitarist and pianist, Freya Roy.  Spearheaded by the exquisitely infectious groove of lead single 'Midnight Train' and the subsequent follow-up single '22 Movements', Roy skilfully interweaves varying elements of R&B, neo-soul and jazz introducing listeners to a confident and charismatic young artist in complete creative control of her music.  Credited as the album's writer, composer and producer and released through her own FCR label, 'AHLKE' actually reaches inspirational-levels of creative success.

'The Vibezlab Sessions II' by PVIBEZ
Paul "PVIBEZ" Morgan returns with the second instalment of his Vibezlab Sessions series of EPs which builds on the groundwork laid out through Volume I (2008).  The 4-track selection here sees the producer and multi-instrumentalist step back into his proverbial Batcave or Fortress of Solitude, seeking his inspiration behind the boards, to provide the sonic soundscapes for his team of vocalists to soar over.  Once again reuniting the original 4 vocalists from Volume I, Morgan recreates the magic for his dream team of Eshe Escoffery, Lifford, Laurnea and Andrae Bentley.

'Green Balloon' by Tank & The Bangas [Verve Forecast]
The New Orleans based R&B and soul group released their long-awaited follow-up album after their debut was initially unveiled in 2013.  Having developed a strong reputation off the back of their live performances, 'Green Balloon' sees the collective enlist some first class assistance with Jack Splash on production for a handful of songs, Alex Isley appearing on vocals for 'Hot Air Balloon' and Robert Glasper supplying his talents most notably for the album's penultimate track, 'Lazy Daze'.

'Select' by Flyt [Space Between Records]
Comprised of husband and wife duo, Josh and Mary Mycroft, Flyt unveiled 'Select' this year which served as an exemplary project to display their unique chillout, nu-soul and R&B aesthetic.  The album concludes with two guest remixes as US remixer/producer Kebomusic revisits the disco-lite 'Can't Come Down' smoothly reimagining it with a more contemporary R&B/club approach, while 'Shadows' is tackled by the incredible Soul Sound Collective whose own versatile styles of incorporating 70s jazz-funk and effervescent soul receives a makeover in its own right with a house-tinged perspective of the track.

'Music & Minds'/'Something Like That'/'Isn't It All' by The Soul Sound Collective
What an excellent year it was for London-based The Soul Sound Collective! As well as having released two singles this year, the group also celebrated the release of their debut EP 'Music & Minds' showcasing their understated and sublime style of instrumental soul music.  Comprised of multi-instrumentalist and producer, Craig Sims, along with long-time collaborator and bassist Tim Higgins, projects this year have seen them paired with guitarist Simon Lee, horn players Colin Watling and Nick Crank, vocalist Steven Bamidele and the aforementioned Flyt.

'Tore Up' by ILL DOOTS featuring Emyne
With their debut full-length project released in 2018 through the incomparable Ropeadope Records, ILL DOOTS have harnessed their skills and experience formed over years of relentless touring and recording - honing their craft - delivering a project that was quite frankly exceptional.  Showcasing elements of hip-hop, soul and funk, this Philadelphia-based band ingeniously fuse these joyous musical styles extending their sound to their 'Tore Up' single this year so fingers crossed a follow-up album is in the works too.

'Ventura' by Anderson .Paak [Aftermath Entertainment]
Following up on 'Oxnard's release of last year in lightning pace, Anderson .Paak's 'Ventura' showcases a more soul-oriented approach to the album, again, demonstrating his indelible versatility as a revered crooner as well as a leading hip-hop heavyweight.  With guests including Pharrell, Brandy, Lalah Hathaway, Andre 3000 and a posthumous performance from West Coast icon, Nate Dogg, .Paak continues to establish an incredible catalogue of music with 'Ventura' taking pride of place amongst one of his best.

'Full Circle' by Jungle Brown [MR BONGO]
The sophomore album from UK hip-hop contingent, Jungle Brown, is not only an exemplary display of soul-inspired hip-hop but also a project that harks back to a golden era in rap music lovingly reminiscent of groups like The Pharcyde and A Tribe Called Quest.  Rappers Ric Flo and MAEAR ooze charisma as they soar over sax-heavy production by Tony Bones that finds itself just as comfortable on dancier/house-esque productions.  'Full Circle' is enhanced with guest appearances from K Waltz, Sampa The Great, Ayo The Yung Africa Pioneer and Terri Walker who appears on the strong highlight 'Huami'.

No comments:

Post a Comment