Wednesday 8 January 2014

2013: bye bye!

In what will be the very final 2013 post, here’s the playlist that summed up our year in music which aired 5th January 2014:
'Do You Feel' - Jose James
'Green Garden' - Laura Mvula
'Walk On' - Chris Dave f/t Aaron Camper
'Nowhere to Run' - Zbonics f/t Gregory Porter
'Strictly Reserved For You' - Charles Bradley
'Shine On' - Mario Biondi
'My Promise' - Earth, Wind & Fire
'Be My Lady' - Trombone Shorty f/t The Meters
'I've Bet and I've Lost Again' - The Excitements
'It's All Because Of You' - Nicole Willis & The Soul Investigators
'Reach Out Richard' - Mayer Hawthorne
'The Army of The Faithful' - David Murray Infinity Quartet f/t Gregory Porter
'Let It Ride' - Robert Glasper Experiment f/t Norah Jones
'What Has This Become?' - Angeline Morrison
'Broken Heart' - Booker T f/t Jay James
'Everyday Love' - Myron & E
'Time To Get Business Straight' - Nicole Willis & The Soul Investigators
'Everything Is Better In The Summertime' - Nick Pride & The Pimptones
'Let Love Stand A Chance' - Charles Bradley
'Yet To Find' - Robert Glasper Experiment f/t Anthony Hamilton
'Cab Calloways Flow' - Benjamin Siksou & The Horndogz
'Hold On' - Lady
'It's All Over Your Body' [Oddisee Remix] - Jose James
That’s pretty much everything we could possibly cram in to a 2-hour show so would have loved more time to squeeze in some more gems.  While this blog tipped its hat to its album of the year (‘Tortured Soul’ by Nicole Willis & The Soul Investigators), it’s now time for us to tip our hat to the song of the year which goes to… ‘Reach Out Richard’ by Mayer Hawthorne!  Produced by Pharrell Williams whose had an exceptional year himself (‘Blurred Lines’, ‘Get Lucky’ and ‘Happy’), this song was about as good as it got and thankfully, the official video has just been released as well.  Enjoy!

No comments:

Post a Comment