Monday 8 May 2017

'Purple Rain' [Deluxe/Expanded Editions] by Prince

I didn't initially report this here because, frankly, I didn't believe it was true.  This Deluxe/Expanded reissue of 'Purple Rain' is a Holy Grail of sorts for Prince fans, and almost a teaser of the goldmine Warner Bros Records have been sitting on for years.

The track-list alone almost acts as the gift and I'll be salivating over it until the album's initial release date, 23rd June.  Too far away!  Disc One sees the album presented as in its original version but remastered in 2015; Disc Two sees songs plucked from the infamous Vault and while some have already seen the light of day (including 'Roadhouse Garden' and 'Wonderful Ass'), the majority comprise of songs only either performed live or heard about: including the full 10-minute version of 'We Can F##k', which later evolved into 'We Can Funk' with George Clinton and released on 'Graffiti Bridge'; Disc Three features single edits and B-sides, while the concert DVD (Disc Four) presents Prince & The Revolution, as recorded in Syracuse, 1985.

This is a dream release so hats off to all involved for putting this together.  Fingers crossed they'll be further trips to The Vault in time to come.
Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
1. Let's Go Crazy
2. Take Me With U
3. The Beautiful Ones
4. Computer Blue
5. Darling Nikki
6. When Doves Cry
7. I Would Die 4 U
8. Baby I'm A Star
9. Purple Rain
Disc Two:  From The Vault & Previously Unreleased
1.  The Dance Electric
2.  Love And Sex
3.  Computer Blue ("Hallway Speech" version)
4.  Electric Intercourse (studio)
5.  Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
6.  Possessed (1983 version)
7.  Wonderful Ass
8.  Velvet Kitty Cat
9.  Katrina's Paper Dolls
10. We Can Fuck
11. Father's Song
(Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above)
Disc Three:  Single Edits & B-Sides
1.  When Doves Cry (edit)
2.  17 Days
3.  Let's Go Crazy (edit)
4.  Let's Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
5.  Erotic City
6.  Erotic City ("Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive")
7.  Purple Rain (edit)
8.  God
9.  God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
10. Another Lonely Christmas
11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
14. Baby I'm A Star (edit)
15. Take Me With U (edit)
DVD:  Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome,  Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985
1. Let's Go Crazy
2. Delirious
3. 1999
4. Little Red Corvette
5. Take Me With U
6. Do Me, Baby
7.  Irresistible Bitch
8.  Possessed
9.  How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?
10. Let's Pretend We're Married
11. International Lover
12. God
13. Computer Blue
14. Darling Nikki
15. The Beautiful Ones
16. When Doves Cry
17. I Would Die 4 U
18. Baby I'm A Star
19. Purple Rain

No comments:

Post a Comment