Friday 17 February 2023

New singles round-up ::: February 2023

'Drownin' by Antoine Berjeaut

Serving as one of the tantalising lead singles from the upcoming MENACE label compilation, trumpeter and composer Antoine Berjeaut unveils another in his stunning takes on diverse contemporary jazz with the hip-hop-inspired single 'Drownin'.  Berjeaut's fantastic 'Chromesthesia', released last year, was an exemplary project to showcase the broad musical scope of the MENACE roster - with its electronica-tinged and brooding atmosphere, Berjeaut has followed suit with a lush number cementing his compulsory inclusion amongst the 12-track line-up.  'MENACE : IN SYNC' will serve as a compulsory purchase to those yet to immerse themselves within the label's releases to date.

'Look Around' [Raw Funk Mix] by Renegades of Jazz featuring Mani Draper

In support of last year's 'Sonic Verve' full-length release - the fifth album from David Hanke's Renegades of Jazz alter ego - the Mani Draper collaboration receives the remix treatment courtesy of the ROJ signature funk & break beat-inspired drums.  Hanke's Bathurst label home consistently releases some stunning music across the broad spectrum of neo-soul to sublime electronica courtesy of artists like Tristan De Liege, Gregg Green, Lehto and Blackadder so there are always treasures to immerse yourself within from the label's excellent roster.  A quick mention to the ROJ 'Sonic Verve' release from last year as well boasting some excellent singles including 'Just Stirred' featuring Laura Vane and Diesler.

'A Friend To All' by Georgie Sweet

For the second single from the upcoming Georgie Sweet full-length, excitingly due out this year, Sweet turns to Futuristica Music label boss Simon S for a brilliantly-produced track expertly building upon the groundwork as established by her 'Misunderstood' album in 2020.  Since the rapturously-received debut, Sweet has treated listeners with a selection of tracks for us to enthusiastically scoop up including featured appearances for Marc Rapson and Children of Zeus and a track exclusive to the phenomenal Futuristica Music 15 year compilation.  'A Friend To All' however picks up on those elements where Georgie Sweet soars - an exquisite vocal adorning the backdrop of a lo-fi, Jazz Chronicles-esque production typical to Simon S that instils such high expectations for the impending sophomore release.

'Duck Rogers' by V.B.Kühl

The Frankfurt-based DJ and producer V.B.Kühl unveils his new single showcasing his typically funky slice of inter galactic electro with 'Duck Rogers'.  The self-professed "groove addict" has long delivered his interpretations of funky, jazzy and disco style compositions across an extensive array of releases via his Bandcamp page and most recently alongside Rabii Harnoune for their sensational Gnawa Electric Laune series on the always brilliant Tru Thoughts Records.  A tirelessly prolific producer and music-maker, V.B.Kühl is rarely short on ideas or inspiration with the 'Duck Rogers' single indicative of his indelible talents.

No comments:

Post a Comment