Thursday 12 October 2017

5 Songs About: Ubiquity Records

Acting as something of a prelude to our GetToKnow radio special on Ubiquity Records (initially airing 16th October on Blue-in-Green:RADIO at 6pm), we thought we'd whet your appetites with a brand new edition from our 5 Songs About series.  Music from the fantastic Ubiquity Records is under the spotlight here so let's dive straight into the catalogue of this extraordinary record label...

'Take My Time' by Breakestra featuring Choklate
Breakestra solidified themselves as one of the leading names in contemporary funk with the release of their debut album album, 'Hit The Floor'.  But what some fans may not have known is that an EP actually preceded the LP and that it's an essential purchase.  Not only does it house an excellent Quantic remix of 'Hiding', there's also an alternate take of the album's opening number 'Stand Up' presented here as 'Take My Time'.


'Playboy Bunny' by Shawn Lee featuring Darondo
The ever-prolific producer, musician, multi-instrumentalist, Shawn Lee, could never not be included on any list to do with Ubiquity.  In this case, we've opted for one of the two collaborations between Lee and vocalist Darondo that appear on Lee's 'Soul in The Hole' album.

'Got To Be A Love' by Greyboy featuring Sharon Jones and Quantic
The man whose first album kicked off the onslaught of Ubiquity releases that would follow on from it.  DJ Greyboy, who kicked off his career with Ubiquity in 1993, has a gem of a record from his 'Soul Mosaic' release which partners him with the awesome Quantic and the late - but oh so great - Sharon Jones.

'Love is A Hurting Thing' [12" Mix] by Gloria Ann Taylor
Dipping into the Luv N' Haight catalogue for this entry and although there is a lot of fantastic releases to pick from, we're opting for a stunning house-esque number for this 12-inch mix of the title track.  Reissued in 2015 from recordings from the 1970s, Gloria Ann Taylor has an excellent release that you should be scrambling to get your hands on.

'Shy As A Butterfly' by The Mighty Sceptres
From the album that paired long-term friends and collaborators, Angeline Morrison and Nick Radford (aka Frootful), together as The Mighty Sceptres comes this Almighty track.  With additional production throughout the album by Chris Pedley of The Baker Brothers and mixing duties tackled by Benedic Lamdin (aka Nostalgia 77), fingers crossed for another release from them in time, but in the meantime we have this fantastic record to keep us happy.

No comments:

Post a Comment