30/70 Collective, 'Fluid Motion' [Rhythm Section International, 2019]
79.5, 'Predictions' [Big Crown Records, 2019]

Adam Turchin, 'Manifest Destiny' [Ropeadope Records, 2017]
Admas, 'Sons of Ethiopia' [Frederiksberg Records, 2020]
AgapeSoul, 'Conversations' [2018]
Ali Shaheed Muhammad & Adrian Younge, 'The Midnight Hour' [Linear Labs, 2018]
The Allergies, 'Push On' [Jalapeno Records, 2017]
Ambient Jazz Ensemble, 'Aura' [Here & Now Recordings, 2020]
Amerigo Gazaway, 'A Common Wonder' [2017]
Amp Fiddler, 'Bassmentality 2' [2014]
Amp Fiddler, 'Bassmentality 3' [2015]
Amp Fiddler, 'Motor City Booty' [2017]
Anbessa Orchestra, 'Tch'elema' [2019]
Andrea Gomellini, 'The Gift' [A.MA Records, 2020]
Andy Davies, 'Rise Of The Spidermonkey' [2019]
As Valet, 'Inner Journey' [A Night on Canopy, 2020]
ATOMGA, 'Lucidity' [Color Red Records, 2019]
ATOMGA, 'Which One Are You'? [Color Red Records, 2020]
Bad Uok, 'Lateless' [Trouble in the East, 2021]
The Bahama Soul Club, 'Havana '58' [2016]
Banderas, 'Tema de Banderas/Banderas Mambo' [Matasuna Records, 2018]
Ben Williams, 'I AM A MAN' [Rainbow Blonde, 2020]
Błoto, 'Erozje' [Astigmatic Records, 2020]
Błoto, 'Kwiatostan' [Astigmatic Records, 2020]
Deborah Jordan, 'I'll See You Again' (Rework + Extended Mixes) [Futuristica Music, 2020]
Dem Juju Poets, 'Liberated Thoughts' [Matasuna Records, 2017]
Deva Mahal, 'Deva Mahal EP' [Motema Records, 2017]
Diazpora, 'Islands' [Legere Recordings, 2017]
DJ Yoda, 'Home Cooking' [Lewis Recordings, 2019]
Dougie Stu, 'Familiar Future' [Ropeadope Records, 2020]
Dragondeer, 'Manifest' [Color Red, 2020]
Durand Jones & The Indications, 'American Love Call' [Colemine Records, 2019]

EABS, 'Slavic Spirits' [Astigmatic Records, 2019]
Enzo Favata, 'The Crossing' [Niafunken, 2021]
Eric Krasno, 'Blood From A Stone' [Feel Music, 2016]
Ezra Collective, 'You Can't Steal My Joy' [Enter the Jungle, 2019]

Flevans, 'Part Time Millionaire' [Jalapeno Records, 2019]
Flyt, 'Embers' [Space Between Records, 2017]
Flyt, 'Select' [Space Between Records, 2019]
Freya Roy, 'AHLKE' [FCR Music, 2019]

Georgia Lee Johnson, 'Languages' [Dala Records, 2018]
Georgie Sweet, 'Misunderstood' [Futuristica Music, 2020]
Gianluca Vigliar, 'Plastic Estrogenus' [A.MA Records, 2019]
Gizelle Smith, 'Jonny pt1' [Mocambo Records, 2013]
Gizelle Smith, 'Sweet Memories'/'S.T.A.Y.' [Jalapeno Records, 2017]
Gregory Porter, 'Issues of Life (Features & Remixes)' [2015]

The Haggis Horns, 'One of These Days' [Haggis Records, 2017]
Hannah Williams & The Affirmations, '50 Foot Woman' [Record Kicks, 2019]
Head for the Hills, 'Omotola' [Color Red, 2020]
Henri-Pierre Noel, 'The Reflex Revisions' [Wah Wah 45s, 2016]
The Hot Damn Horns & The Soul Machine, 'Shake Your Leg' [2021]

ILL DOOTS, 'ILL DOOTS' [Ropeadope Records, 2018]
Ishmael Ensemble, 'A State of Flow' [2019]

Jason McGuiness, 'Empyrean Tones' [Common Good Records, 2019]
Jesse Fischer, 'Cross Currents' [2019]
Jose James, 'The Dreamer' 10th Anniversary Edition [Brownswood Recordings, 2018]
Jose James, 'While You Were Sleeping' [Blue Note Records, 2014]
Jose James, 'Lean On Me' [Blue Note Records, 2018]
Josef Leimberg, 'Astral Progressions' [World Galaxy Records, 2017]
Judith Hill, 'Back in Time' [2015]

Kassa Overall, 'I THINK I'M GOOD' [Brownswood Recordings, 2020]
Kaveh Rastegar, 'Light of Love' [Ropeadope Records, 2018]
Kim Dawson, 'Try' [Color Red, 2020]
Kris Bowers, 'Heroes + Misfits' [Conchord Jazz, 2014]
Kyle Lacy, 'Hangin On' [Dala Records, 2019]

Lack of Afro, 'Hello Baby' [LOA Records, 2016]
Lady, 'Lady' [Truth & Soul, 2013]
Lakecia Benjamin, 'Retox' [Motema Records, 2015]
LaNote, 'Rebirth' [Futuristica Music, 2021]
Lee Fields, 'Emma Jean' [Truth & Soul, 2014]
Lee Fields, 'It Rains Love' [Big Crown Records, 2019]
Leisure Centre, 'Mind Full' [HopeStreet Recordings, 2018]
Levitation Orchestra, 'Inexpressible Infinity' [Astigmatic Records, 2019]
Lou Bond, 'Lou Bond' [Light in The Attic Records, 2010]
The Love Experiment x WONK, 'Binary' [Sweet Soul records, 2017]
Lucia Cadotsch, 'Speak Low II' [2020]

Majamisty TriO, 'Organic' [Mistyland, 2020]
Maya Law, 'Say It Ain't So' [2020]
Mayfield, 'Victim of Circumstance' [Choi Records, 2017]
Mel & Kim, 'Bad Man' [Dala Records, 2018]
The Mighty Mocambos, '2066' [Legere Recordings, 2019]
Moses Boyd, 'Displaced Diaspora' [Exodus, 2018]
Myles Sanko, 'Forever Dreaming' [Legere Recordings, 2014]

Naphta, 'Naphta & The Shamans' [Astigmatic Records, 2018]
Nate Smith, 'Kinfolk: Postcards From Everywhere' [Ropeadope Records, 2017]
Nathan Thomas, 'Still Water' [Futuristica Music, 2020]
Pippo D'Ambrosio, 'A Peaceful Place' [A.MA Records, 2020]
Prince, 'Art Official Age' [Warner Bros, 2014]
Prince, 'PlectrumElectrum' [Warner Bros, 2014]
Prince, 'Purple Rain' Expanded Edition [Warner Brothers, 2017]
Professor Wouassa, 'Grow Yes Yes!' [Matasuna Records, 2017]

R+R=Now, 'Collagically Speaking [Blue Note Records, 2018]
[re:jazz], 'Kaleidoscope' [Infracom, 2012]
Record Kicks 'Soul Sides' [Record Kicks, 2017]
Record Kicks, 'Record Kicks 10: 2003-2013' [Record Kicks, 2013]
Res, 'Refried Mac' [2013]
Resavoir, 'Resavoir' [International Anthem, 2019]
Resolution 88, 'Raios Do Sol' [Splash Blue, 2016]
Robert Glasper, 'F__k Yo Feelings' [Blue Note, 2019]
SARASON, 'Reflections of Self' [Dala Records, 2020]
Sean Khan, 'Palmares Fantasy' [Far Out Recordings, 2018]
Sean Khan, 'Distant Voice' [BBE Records, 2019]
Sun Circle, 'Life Stories EP' [Futuristica Music, 2021]
Surly, 'Trip To Warsaw' [Astigmatic Records, 2018]

Tensei, 'Speak Your Truth' [Def Presse, 2020]

Ugljesa Novakovic, 'Reflections' [A.MA Records, 2021]
Uncivilized, 'Garden' [UNCIV MUSIC, 2020]

Vibration Black Finger, 'Can You See What I'm Trying to Say' [Jazzman Records, 2020]

Wild Card, 'Beast From The East' [2019]

Zbonics, 'Tripwire' [Color Red Records, 2020]

'Art Official Age' by Prince

'Back in Time' by Judith Hill

'Basementality 2' by Amp Fiddler

'Black Radio' by Robert Glasper Experiment
'The Brazil Connection' by Studio Rio

Chris Dave & The Drumhedz Mixtape

'Emma Jean' by Lee Fields

'Forever Dreaming' by Myles Sanko

'Free Souls' by Nicola Conte

'Heroes + Misfits' by Kris Bowers

'Jonny Pt1' by Gizelle Smith

'Kaleidoscope' by [re:jazz]

'L'Etrange' by Caroline Lacaze

'Lady' by Lady

'Lou Bond' by Lou Bond

'Love & Revolution' by Nicola Conte

'Love Sex Passion' by Raheem DeVaughn

'No Beginning No End' by Jose James

'PlectrumElectrum' by Prince & 3rdEyeGirl

'Record Kicks 10: 2003-2013'

'Refried Mac' by Res

'Rejuiced Phat Shake' by Nick Pride & The Pimptones

'Retox' by Lakecia Benjamin

'Season's Greetings' by Olympic Cyclone Band

'Soul Intoxication' by Basement Freaks

'Soul Power' by Curtis Harding

'While You Were Sleeping' by Jose James

'Whole Other*' by Richard Spaven


D'Angelo: 'Black Messiah' (+ live @ Brixton’s O2 Academy 03/02/12)

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings [LIVE, 16th May 2014 @ The Roundhouse]

Jose James live @ XOYO, London [9th April 2013]






Year in review

Top 5 albums

Honourable mentions

m1xtap6 (30 awesome songs for 2016)

Top 6(!) albums

Top 5 albums

Top albums #5-#2, #1

No comments:

Post a Comment